Project coat rack

I have been on the search for a simple coat rack to hang in our utility room. My kitchen chairs became a catch all for things like clothes, bags, purses, etc. and it was driving me crazy. After finding some beautiful options at Pottery Barn, I decided I was not paying $100….enter project coat rack!

Cast Iron Row of Hooks
Pottery Barn $99

Overscaled Row of Hooks
Pottery Barn $199

First, I wanted to find an old, rustic board. So of course the best place for that is my Grandpa’s garage. Perfect, step one was easy and free. Next, I visited Lowe’s and found some inexpensive oil rubbed bronze hooks. I chose something sturdy that will hold heavy book bags and coats. Last step was to recruit my husband and father to do the drilling. I am so pleased with the outcome and even better…it cost under $25 to make.

Drill holes where you will mount wood on the wall.

We placed the hardware over the screws used for mounting the board to the wall to disguise them.

Love it!

Leave a Reply

